Catapulting into Classical

A headlong leap into music, history, and composing

Another Leap

1 Comment

Leap Into the Void by Yves Klein

Yves Klein (French, 1928–1962). Leap into the Void, 1960. The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York. © Yves Klein, ADAGP, Paris; Photo: Shunk-Kender © Roy Lichtenstein Foundation. Via metmuseum.org

I saw this photograph for the first time last week and knew I had to post it. Yes, there was photo-doctoring long before Photoshop (the Soviets were masters of the art). You can see how the photo was made here.

Yves Klein was fascinated with levitation and the concept of the void. His art could be as much about the performance of the creation of art as the artifact of that act of creation. A fascinating fellow.

I leapt into keyboard playing as a child despite the lack of lessons (fortunately, I was able to start taking lessons later…much later).

I leapt into choral singing, never having sung before (other than caroling and the occasional happy birthday, more or less).

I leapt into composing because I could not keep from doing so.

I leapt into blogging not sure if I could, or if anyone would read it.

Sometimes you just have to leap, even if you’re not sure where you’re going to land.

I’d like to thank you, readers, for visiting and commenting, and for your overwhelmingly positive responses and encouragement, for which I am grateful. I hope you’ll keep catapulting with me.

And now here’s my question for you: what would you dare to do if you knew you could not fail/fall?

One thought on “Another Leap

  1. A leap into the void. For me, that would be a long hike in Scotland. It’s worth it to take on these scary projects, as evidenced by your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

