Catapulting into Classical

A headlong leap into music, history, and composing

A Mozart Coup!

3 Comments

Always keep your eye (and ear) out for music, because you never know where you might find it.

I was in a local thrift shop (the same one where I found the opera LPs).  I had looked over the LPs and CDs (I found a Mendelssohn CD, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, conducted by Harnoncourt – 90 cents). I was looking at the books.  On the bottom shelf I saw the word Mozart, but it was hard to read what it was because of plastic wrapping.

It was a sealed set of sheet music books.  The complete piano solo works, Urtext, by Könemann Music Budapest. $15.90.

I feared they might be microscopic or poorly printed, but I took a chance.  They are beautiful, very clearly printed, well bound. A search yielded this discussion of the Könemann firm, which went bankrupt.

I guess I’ll be accessing that Spotify playlist (all of Mozart) sooner than I thought.  It will be useful as a reference recording and as an additional means of selecting something interesting (and achievable) to learn.

Mozart: Complete Works for Solo Piano, Konemann Music Budapest, with sleeve.

Mozart: Complete Works for Solo Piano, Konemann Music Budapest, with sleeve.

3 thoughts on “A Mozart Coup!

  1. This is SUCH a coup! Congratulations!

    Like

  2. Well done, Chris- should be terrific, and a bargain. Who are your favorite Mozart pianists?

    Tom

    Like

Leave a Reply

