Catapulting into Classical

A headlong leap into music, history, and composing

Free Webcast: Mozart’s “Prague” Symphony from the DSO

1 Comment


Detroit. Tomorrow. Be there.

The Detroit Symphony Orchestra will present a free webcast of Mozart’s “Prague” Symphony on January 16, 2016 at 8:00 PM EST.  The program will also include works by Dvorak, Elgar, and Mohammed Fairouz.  Here’s the program:

Dvorak              Serenade for Winds

Elgar                  Serenade for Strings

Mozart              Symphony No 38, “Prague”

Mohammed Fairouz       Concerto for Cello and Orchestra

The program will feature Israeli-born cellist Maya Beiser performing the world premiere of the concerto by Mohammed Fairouz titled “Desert Sorrows.”

You can find the webcast here.  Don’t miss it!


Image attribution: Mozart c. 1780, portrait by Johann Nepomuk della Croce. Public domain. Questionably modified by C. Gallant.


One thought on “Free Webcast: Mozart’s “Prague” Symphony from the DSO

  1. Thanks lots, Chris. I’ll be at the Jim Scott event, so can’t hear it, darn it. Nice program- all strong works. I especially love the “Prague.” And would have liked to hear the new cello concerto.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.