Catapulting into Classical

A headlong leap into music, history, and composing

Free Concert Webcast: Berlin Phil Welcomes Refugees

1 Comment

Silhouette of refugees walking

On Tuesday, 1 March 2016 at 12 noon EST, the Berlin Philharmonic will present a free live webcast of a concert for refugees, their families, and those helping refugees, “Welcome Among Us.”  Register for a free account to see the concert at  Here’s the program:

Mozart: Piano Concerto in D Minor K 466, Daniel Barenboim conductor and piano, Staatskapelle Berlin

Prokofiev: Symphony No 1 in D Major Symphonie classique, Iván Fischer conductor, Konzerthausorkester Berlin

Beethoven: Symphony No 7 in A Major, movements 2 and 4, Sir Simon Rattle conductor, Berlin Philharmonic

Here’s a non-musical resource:  if you are considering making a donation to help refugees (or for any other cause), you may find the Charity Navigator website useful.  It provides detailed information on the performance of a large number of charities, many in the US, but some with an international component (for example, the International Rescue Committee or UNICEF).  The information on the website can help you to make sure your donation is being used efficiently and effectively.   Here is their listing of highly-rated charities focusing on the refugee crisis.


Image attribution:  Refugees, public domain via




One thought on “Free Concert Webcast: Berlin Phil Welcomes Refugees

  1. Nice touch with Charity Navigator. Thanks for all this.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.